Download flow chart of the procedure - PCT Member States

An “international” or “PCT” patent application covers all countries/regions which are party to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) (“PCT Member States”) on the day the PCT application is filed, except those which the applicant has deliberately excluded or withdrawn. At present, the PCT covers most of the major industrial countries of the world, but notably not Taiwan, Pakistan, Argentina, Venezuela and most of the Arab world. This page provides a current list of the PCT Member States. For more information about PCT applications, and the PCT process, see our page entitled International (PCT) Applications.

PCT Member States (152) - as at 30 June 2019

Albania - AL Germany - DE (EP) Nigeria - NG
Algeria - DZ
Ghana - GH (AP) Norway - NO (EP)
Angola - AO
Greece - GR (EP)1 Oman - OM 
Antigua and Barbuda - AG
Grenada - GD Panama - PA
Armenia - AM (EA)
Guatemala - GT Papua New Guinea - PG
Australia - AU
Guinea - GN (OA)1
Peru - PE
Austria - AT (EP)
Guinea-Bissau - GW (OA)1 Philippines - PH
Azerbaijan - AZ (EA)
Honduras - HN Poland - PL (EP)
Bahrain - BH
Hungary - HU (EP)
Portugal - PT (EP)
Barbados - BB
Iceland - IS (EP)
Qatar - QA
Belarus - BY (EA)
India - IN Romania - RO (EP)
Belgium - BE (EP)1
Indonesia - ID Russian Federation - RU (EA)
Belize - BZ
Ireland - IE (EP)1
Rwanda - RW
Benin - BJ (OA)1 Islamic Republic of Iran - IR St Kitts and Nevis - KN
Bosnia & Herzegovina - BA2 Israel - IL St Lucia - LC
Botswana - BW (AP)
Italy - IT (EP)1
St Vincent & Grenadines - VC
Brazil - BR
Japan - JP San Marino - SM (EP)1
Brunei Darussalam - BN  Jordan - JO Sao Tome and Principe - ST
Bulgaria - BG (EP)
Kazakstan - KZ (EA) Saudi Arabia (SA)
Burkina Faso - BF (OA)1 Kenya - KE (AP) Senegal - SN (OA)1
Cambodia - KH North Korea - KP Serbia - RS6
Cameroon - CM (OA)1 South Korea - KR Seychelles - SC
Canada - CA
Kuwait - KW
Sierra Leone - SL (AP)
Central African Rep. - CF (OA)1 Kyrgyzstan - KG (EA)
Singapore - SG
Chad - TD (OA)1 Lao People's Dem. Rep. - LA Slovakia - SK (EP)
Chile - CL
Latvia - LV (EP)1
Slovenia - SI (EP)1
China - CN
Lesotho - LS (AP)
South Africa - ZA
Colombia - CO
Liberia - LR
Spain - ES (EP)
Comoros - KM (OA)1
Liechtenstein - LI (EP)
Sri Lanka - LK
Congo - CG (OA)1 Lithuania - LT (EP)
Sudan - SD (AP)
Costa Rica - CR
Luxembourg - LU (EP)
Sweden - SE (EP)
Côte d’Ivoire - CI (OA)1
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya - LY
Switzerland - CH (EP)
Croatia - HR (EP)
Macedonia - MK
Syrian Arab Republic - SY
Cuba - CU
Madagascar - MG Tajikistan - TJ (EA)
Cyprus - CY (EP)1 Malawi - MW (AP) Tanzania - TZ (AP)
Czech Republic - CZ (EP)
Malaysia - MY Thailand - TH
Denmark - DK (EP)
Mali - ML (OA)1 Togo -TG (OA)1
Djibouti Malta - MT (EP)1 Trinidad and Tobago - TT
Dominica - DM
Mauritania - MR (OA)1 Tunisia - TN
Dominican Republic - DO
Mexico - MX Turkey - TR (EP)
Ecuador - EC
Moldova - MD3,5 Turkmenistan - TM (EA)
El Salvador - SV
Monaco - MC (EP)1 Uganda - UG (AP)
Egypt - EG Mongolia - MN Ukraine - UA
Equatorial Guinea - GQ (OA)1 Montenegro - ME2,6
United Arab Emirates - AE
Estonia - EE (EP)
Morocco - MA3
United Kingdom - GB (EP)
Eswatini - SZ (AP)1 Mozambique - MZ (AP) United States of America - US
Finland - FI (EP) Namibia - NA
Uzbekistan - UZ 
France - FR (EP)1 Netherlands - NL (EP)1
Vietnam - VN
Gabon - GA (OA)1
New Zealand - NZ
Zambia - ZM (AP)
Gambia - GM (AP) Nicaragua - NI
Zimbabwe - ZW (AP)
Georgia - GE
Niger - NE (OA)1

Regional Patents

European Patent (EP)4: AL, AT, BE, BG, CH, CY, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FR, GB, GR, HR, HU, IE, IS, IT, LI, LT, LU, LV, MC, MK, MT, NL, NO, PO, PT, RO, RS, SE, SI, SK, SM, TR
("Extension" possible for: BA, ME, TN, KH) ("Validation" possible for: MA, MD)

Eurasian Patent (EA)5: AM, AZ, BY, KG, KZ, RU, TJ, TM

OAPI (African Intellectual Property Organisation) Patent (OA): BF, BJ, CF, CG, CI, CM, GA, GN, GQ, GW, KM, ML, MR, NE, SN, TD, TG

ARIPO (African Regional Industrial Property Organisation) Patent (AP): GH, GM, KE, LR, LS, MW, MZ, SD, SL, ST, SZ, TZ, UG, ZM, ZW

1  May only be designated for a Regional Patent (the "national route" via the PCT has been closed).
2 "Extension" of European Patent possible (BA, ME).
"Validation" of European Patent possible (MA, MD, TN, KH).
4  EP does not include Andorra.
5  EA no longer includes Moldova (MD) from 26 April 2012.
6  On 3 June 2006, the former state of Serbia & Montenegro (YU) divided into the Republic of Serbia (RS) and the Republic of Montenegro (ME).

Process of a Typical PCT Application

Download flow chart of the procedure - PCT Member States

This information is simplified and must not be taken as a definitive statement of the law or practice.

Topics: Patents - General , Patents - International , IP Protection

Our People

Our IP specialists work at all stage of the IP life cycle and provide strategic advice about patent, trade mark and registered designs, as well as any IP-related disputes and legal and commercial requirements.


News & Insights

Read our blogs to keep up to date with developments in the IP world and what we are up to at Mewburn Ellis.

Contact Us

We have an easily-accessible office in central London, as well as a number of regional offices throughout the UK and an office in Munich, Germany.  We’d love to hear from you, so please get in touch.